The focus of the Seventh Nâzım Hikmet Poetry Festival was the Russian poet, Anna Akhmatova and her poetry.  Our invited speakers were Stanislav Shvabrin and Irene Masing-Delic, both professors of Russian literature at UNC-Chapel Hill. Betty Adcock was the invited poet of this year’s program.


This year’s poetry competition received over 1000 poems from 337 poets.  The submissions came from 39 states and 20 countries. North Carolina poets submitted 26.3% of the poems. 14% of the poems were submitted from other countries.  This year, the competition had seven finalists and three honorable mentions.  As it was the case in previous years, the group includes both established and rising poets. The selection was carried out in two stages. The final selection committee included Joseph Bathanti, Greg Dawes, Erdag Goknar, Terry Hummer and Jaki Shelton-Green.


This years winners are as follows:


Leila Chatti Lois Harrod Mimi Herman Emily Jaeger
Edison Jennings Anne Whitehouse Andy Young  

Honorable Mentions

Jane K. Andrews
Mary Elizabeth Parker   

Mike Saye


Turkish Poetry Translations were done by:
Behçet Necatigil by Hatice Örün & Jeffrey Kahrs

Designed by Bali & Bali Works