2011 Poetry Competition Winners

Nazim Hikmet Poetry Competition winners have been announced. Poetry selection committee (In alphabetical order) was Greg Dawes, Professor, Foreign Languages an Literatures, NCSU; Joseph Donahue, Poet & Senior Lecturing Fellow, Duke University; Dorianne Laux, Poet & Professor of English, NCSU; Hatice Orun Ozturk, Poet & Teaching Associate Professor of Biomedical Engineering, NCSU; Jaki Shelton-Green, Poet & 2009 Piedmont Laureate; Jon Thompson, Poet & Editor, FreeVerse Magazine, Professor of English, NCSU.

The Third Nazim Hikmet Poetry Competition received submissions from 134 poets. North Carolina poets submitted 53% of the poems. The rest of the poems came from other U.S. states (29%) and other countries (18%) including England, Canada, Greece, India and Turkey.

The following poets were selected as the winners of this year’s competition (In alphabetical order):


Edwina Attlee, (London, GB)

Michael Beadle (Canton, NC)

Kevin Boyle (Burlington, NC)

Alicia Brandewie (Atlanta, GA)

Aaron Counts (Seattle, MA)

Ansel Elkins (Greensboro, NC)

Terri Kirby Erickson (Lewisville, NC)

Daniel Abdal-Hayy Moore (Philadelphia, PA)

Adnan Onart (Boston, MA)

Glenis Redmond (Asheville, NC)

Maureen Sherbondy (Raleigh, NC)


Honorable Mentions :

Alisha Gard (Carrboro, NC)

Maria Rouphail (Raleigh, NC)

Dianne Timblin (Durham, NC)

The winning poets will read their poems at the Third Annual Nazim Hikmet Poetry Festival, which will be held on Sunday April 17, at the Page Walker Arts & History Center in Cary, NC.

Posted on 2012-01-19

Designed by Bali & Bali Works